The Committee

The Executive Committee

The League has an Executive Committee responsible for managing the affairs of the League on a day to day business in order to safeguard the integrity and perpetuity of the League as far as is reasonably practicable. The Committee meets quarterly and consists of the President, Secretary, Archivist, Treasurer, Events Secretary, Honorary Chaplain and other members as required. The Committee will also organise the Annual General Meeting. The Committee, less the President, are nominated and elected on an annual basis at the AGM and your Committee currently comprises:

President: Lieutenant Colonel (Retired) John Balding MBE GM – Contact by email

Vice President: Mr Ken Irvine GM – Contact by email

Parade Marshal: Mr Mike Knox GM

Secretary (including Membership): Mrs Sally McBean – Contact by email

Treasurer: Mr Alan Islam GM QGM – Contact by email

Honorary Archivist: Mr Phil McDermott – Contact by email

Events Secretary & Naval Awards Advisor: Professor Bernard de Neumann – Contact by email

Services Liaison Officer: Vacant

Honorary Chaplain: Rev’d Wendy Mallas MA – Contact by email

Postal Address: Gallantry Medallists’ League, PO Box 524, Harpenden, Hertordshire, AL5 9EY.

Volunteers needed for the Committee
The League needs new members to assist the Committee with new ideas and suggestions so that we remain in touch with the memberships wishes and thus sustain the League into the future. Committee duties are not onerous but require commitment to attend the quarterly meetings; these meetings are normally held in Oxfordshire and reasonable travelling expenses may be claimed. If you have time to spare and would like to help the Committee in any way, no matter how small, then please let the Secretary know, your help would genuinely be appreciated and most welcomed.